top of page

Goodbye + Hello

Goodbye Money . . . Hello Hormones! The final IVF consult. It was much heavier then we expected and a big contrast from our light Saturday appointment where we laughed most the time. We had to re-hash every single detail of our past 5 pregnancies which is emotionally painful and time consuming. It took hours to go through all the details of our history. Then we had to make some big decisions about whether we would for sure do genetic testing to eliminate miscarriage risk or not. Seams like a no brainer but my doctor knew we could save money by not doing it and maybe still get pregnant with more tries even if we did miscarry. We decided the emotional toll of a miscarriage after IVF was worth the money to avoid. Then my doctor decided I needed to start Metformin which I had no clue I would need to take. This drug basically has the side effect of the flu! I'll be on it till I'm pregnant, along with another slew of drugs but I wasn't expecting to start anything big till after Christmas. So now I'll be nauseas and flu like all through Christmas which felt like a blow to me. I have been counting down he days till Christmas because I just love this time of year and spending time alone with my gang. I am slowly starting to wean myself onto my hormones, so far I have a killer headache that won't go away and this morning I woke up very nauseas but food seamed to help that. Sad part is I'm only on 1/16 of my meds so far! I'm hoping my body will cope okay, but I went and bought some ice cream (hello craving) just incase I was too sick to eat some later we have a movie and snacks planned for today. But surprisingly I have just wanted healthy stuff today which is nice. Check out this awesome massive bottle of pills though it cracked me up! At the end of my doctors appointment they also asked for there $19,000 to be paid by this weekend. Merry Christmas! We are so blessed to have been saving and working hard, and had so many wonderful families shop with us and send us donations to go towards this. We wouldn't have been able to make this possible without all the people helping us out which we can't say thank you enough. Once my bigger procedures start we will have more costs rolling in slowly, with some help from insurance and praying the first cycle works and we won't have to dump anymore money into it. So there you have it, this is what 4 days into the journey looks like. Nausea, headaches, our life savings gone, and whirling emotions. I think the hardest part for me right now is putting ALL our eggs in one basket... literally haha. Praying it works and we get that baby! We are still waiting for my Ovarian Assessment to be updated before we are officially approved to do IVF. But well on our way.


bottom of page